Birch Box

Birch Box Jan ’16

Each month I thought it would be nice to do a post of what I received in my Birch Box and give a little review on some of the products, what I liked and didn’t like.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Birch Box, let me explain. Birch Box is a monthly subscription box in which you get sent 5 hand picked, beauty items to try out each month for only Β£10 + p&p. You get a mixture of high end, exclusive and cult makeup, skincare, fragrance and hair care.

This months birch box was joined with Pinterest. Inside there were 5 exclusive specially illustrated cards by illustrator Viktorija Semjonova.


The first product that caught my eye was from benefit. It is their tinted eyelash primer in the colour mink.

This is what birch box say about the product

“For supercharged lashes, one coat of this game changing product will make all the difference! The mink-coloured formula separates, lengthens and boosts each individual lash to prepare it for your mascara. “RRP Β£18.50

 


I think the benefit eyelash primer is a great product, it can be worn alone or with mascara depending on the look you are going for. I wear it with mascara onto but if the colour was a darker brown/black I would definitely wear it on its own. I found when I wore the primer, it stopped my lashes from clumping when I applied my mascara. All round good product.
The second product I came across was a Eyeko product.  It is their fat liquid eyeliner pen in black.

This is what birch box say about the product

“Whether your a eyeliner whizz or a complete novice, this chubby pen delivers an effortless slick of smudge-proof definition to the lash line. For a bold, high-impact, look you can’t go wrong. “RRP Β£12


   I found this to be one of the best liquid liners I’ve tried. It didn’t move throughout the day but also came off very easily when I removes my makeup. The colour is very black and bold so if you like a light shade or a thin lined eyeliner this product might not be for you. I found it hard to get used to using the liner but after a while it was okay.
The third product is a rituals product. It’s the T’ai Chi foaming shower gel.

This is what birch box say about the product

“This stuff is like magic! Packed with organic ingredients, like relaxing white lotus and nourishing yi yi ren, it transforms into a luxurious foam on contact with water for a skin-softening clean. “RRP Β£8.50

 The smell of this product wasn’t to my taste but once you use it a few times it does grow on you. It smells very earthy and fresh. With this product you only need a pea sized amount as when it is wet it expands to the right amount.  It leaves your skin feeling really soft and makes you smell good too. I will defiantly purchase this product once I have used it up.

The fourth product is from beauty protected. It is their protect & detangle.

This is what birch box say about the product.

“A birch box bestseller, and for good reason, this miracle-worker conditions, detangles, and minimises frizz – all whilst protecting against uv Ray’s, and heat styling (phew!). Bonus this stuff smells incredible.” RRP Β£14


 The smell of this product is AMAZING! It smells sweet and a bit like some lush products. I spray this in my hair when its wet, just before I brush my hair and it helps detangle my hair as well as making it extra soft from the leave in conditioner. Along with the Rituals product, I will be buying a full sized bottle once this one is gone.

The final product is by Absolution. It is their cleansing water, L’Eau Soir et Matin.

This is what birch box say about the product.

“Make light work of removing your makeup with this purifying cleansing water. Packed with kind-to-skin ingredients like hazelnut oil and aloe Vera, it removes all traces of the day to leave your complex feeling soft and refreshed. “RRP Β£27

 

 I use the cleansing water after I’ve cleansed my face with my cleansing lotion and it makes me feel fresh and my skin feel soft. The smell is quite strong on the first use but only for a few seconds, once the water has absorbed into the skin. I think this product is very over priced and don’t think I would spend Β£27 on a cleansing water.

LauraAliceloves xoxo

Leave a Reply

