beauty · Birch Box

Birchbox May ’16

Each month I thought it would be nice to do a post of what I received in my Birch Box and give a little review on some of the products, what I liked and didn’t like.
For those of you who aren’t familiar with Birch Box, let me explain. Birch Box is a monthly subscription box in which you get sent 5 hand-picked, beauty items to try out each month for only Β£10 + p&p. You get a mixture of high-end, exclusive and cult makeup, skin care, fragrance and hair care.


The first product I received this month was from Spectrum Collections, it is their unicorn tear wonder sponge.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” to achieve truly flawless makeup, this is the tool that you need. The perfect partner to cream, mineral, or fluid formulas, blend them seamlessly into skin with the rounded end while the pointed tip gets into those hard-to-reach areas.” RRP Β£4.99

I was really looking forward to receiving the spectrum blending sponge. I have used a few other beauty sponges in the past and loved them so I knew i’d love this one too. It blends my makeup really well and gives a flawless finish which a blending brush or stippling brush doesn’t. Would 100% recommend a beauty sponge to anyone who hasn’t tried one before. It is a great price too!

The next product is by theBalm cosmetics. It is their cheek and lip stain.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” multi-taskers and beauty minimalist rejoice! This raspberry-tinted stain can add a long-lasting flush of colour to you cheeks AND a pink tint to your lips, too! The water-based formula has a longer setting time than most stains to really let you blend it in.” RRP Β£10

This lip/cheek stain is okay but wasn’t what I was expecting. The colour is really nice and is a colour I would wear daily. Β I didn’t like the feeling or texture on the lips and the colour didn’t show up a lot, just looked like I had a sheer lip balm on. I don’t think I would pay Β£10 for this product but I am going to try it out for a bit longer and see if my thoughts change.

The next product is a hair product. It is polish balm by Philip Kingsley.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” forget fly-away, frazzled hair, and dry ends, this balm-to-serum formula leaves every hair type feeling smooth and conditioned and looking sleek and glossy. Bonus: it also delivers ProVitamin B5 and Vitamin A to nourish deep-down, too!” RRP Β£18.50

This product is AMAZING! It made my hair feel really soft and look shiny and healthy. It helped with my baby hairs and fly aways after I had done my hair. It does have a weird texture and feels oily but doesn’t make the hair oily or look greasy when applied.

The next product is by Caudalie. It is their moisturising sorbet.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” yes, the humble grape is brimming with antioxidant-boosting benefits that your skin will love. Caudalie had harnessed its power within this unique gel-cream formula to hydrate, reduce redness and instantly soothe skin.” RRP Β£23

I love to try different skin care brands and haven’t tried one by caudal is. I felt really nice and cooling on my skin but did make my skin breakout after a few days of using it. It has a very floral scent so if you like fresh smells or un scented this wouldn’t be for you.

The next product is by Rituals. It is their exfoliating scrub.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” take a little time out from your usual beauty routine for some extra pampering – this stuff is like a spa treatment in a pot! A blend of ultra-fine chinese bamboo particles and calming white lotus helps slough dead cells away to leave skin smooth.” RRP Β£19.50


I have tried rituals products before and have loved them! This exfoliating scrub made my skin feel amazing and so soft. It has a clean natural scent which I really like. Will definitely be purchasing the bigger size.
The last product this month is a little extra bonus product. It is coconut oil but Vita Coco.

This is what Birchbox said about the product:

” formulated using coconuts from the same groves as their much-loved coconut water, this 100% raw blend is a beauty must-have for all skin types. It’s naturally packed with good-for-you fatty acids, making it a nourishing treat for skin, hair, body and beyond! ” RRP Β£9.99

 

I have never used any kind of coconut oil before so was interesting using this product. I used a little in my hair and a little on my legs. It made my hair feel really nice and smelt good after. Felt a little odd on my legs but did make them feel nice once it had sunk in a little. Will definitely try coconut oil in the future.

I hope you like my monthly reviews on Birchbox. Please leave a comment on any products or posts you want to see in the future.

LauraAliceloves xoxo

5 thoughts on “Birchbox May ’16

Leave a Reply

