Birch Box

Birchbox June ’16

Each month I thought it would be nice to do a post of what I received in my Birch Box and give a little review on some of the products, what I liked and didn’t like.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Birch Box, let me explain. Birch Box is a monthly subscription box in which you get sent 5 hand-picked, beauty items to try out each month for only Β£10 + p&p. You get a mixture of high-end, exclusive and cult makeup, skin care, fragrance and hair care.
The first product I received this month was by Jelly Pong Pong. It is their lighten up brightened and water liner.

This is what birchbox said about the product:

” if, like us, you love your makeup to multi-task then you’ll heart this brightening pencil! Use it along your waterline when you’re feeling tired, to fake wide-awake eyes, or blend it beneath brows or highlight your arches and all without a hint of shimmer in sight! ” RRP Β£14.95


I use this in the inner corners of my eyes to make them look brighter and under my brow. I did add a little to my water line and didn’t like the look it gave. This is the first time I’ve used a product like this and I actually like it, but wouldn’t buy it personally.

The second product I received was by Percy & Reed. It is their reassuringly firm session hold hairspray.

This is what birchbox said about the product:

” spent ages perfecting those pinterest-inspired braids? You need a spritz of strong hold hairspray to keep your hard work in place. This ultra fine, humidity-resistant spray is free of that crunchy feeling – so restyle away if your heart desires!” RRP Β£12


I love this hair spray! It held the curls in my hair but I did feel it made my hair feel a little crunchy and crisp. I have been using it a lot and keeping it in my handbag for on the go when I feel my hair needs the help.

The next product I received is  photoderm AKN mat SPF30 by Bioderma.

This is what birchbox said about the product:

” if you skip your daily SPF for fear of it clogging your pores then rethink! The exclusive Fluidactive patent in this mattifying lotion regulates your skin’s oil levels to keep pores clear and prevent blemishes – while protecting from UVA and UVB rays!” RRP Β£14


This product was great. I took it on holiday with me and used it on my face. It helped protect my face from the sun when I was and wasn’t wearing makeup. It didn’t feel sticky and weird on my skin, absorbed quickly. Great product!

The next product this month is by Whish. It is their Coconut milk CC body cream.

This is what birchbox said about the product:

” summer’s arrival means it’s time for your skin to take center stage and you can’t go wrong with this all-natural lotion! the fast-absorbing formula will hydrate and bronze you from tip-to-toe while treating your skin to nourishment too” RRP Β£15.50

I wasn’t sure about this product when I saw it, i’m still not 100%. It made my skin feel nice and soft which  i liked but the overall look it gave to my skin was a bit weird. Great moisturiser for the arms and legs though.

The last product I received this month is by Huygens. It is their Le Gommage visage.

This is what birchbox said about the product:

” for a truly flawless base it’s important to slough away dead skin cells to prep your canvas. Gentle enough for daily use (and adored by french beauty editors!) this cream scrub is packed with rice powder particles to smooth an purify all skin types” RRP Β£17.90


This is defiantly my favourite product this month. It made my skin feel amazing and didn’t re-act with my skin at all, like other products have in the past. It has an amazing lemon and lime scent which I loved. I will repurchasing this product without a doubt!
 

 

Leave a Reply

